This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Humanities 8: A Moral Perspective" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Humanities 8: A Moral Perspective  

Mr. Sberna and Mr. Silcox have created a research guide for the CAPPS Project and the American Diary Project. Use this guide to begin your research.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2011 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/Humanities8 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

This guide offers suggestions on sources for history research in the Green Library at St. Mark's. The guide contains tabs about various stages of a research paper including:

 

How do I begin?

Begin your research by using the databases at your disposal in the Green Library. A brief list of appropriate databases may be found on this page under "Basic Ways To Find Scholarly Articles," but remember to explore all the databases available to you through the Green Library web database portal.  For example, you might want to consider searching the Grove Dictionary of Music or of Art for the year you have chosen, so that you might include references to the fine arts in your project.  If your year is 1888, you might want to include the fact that John Philip Sousa wrote "Semper Fidelis," the official march of the United States Marine Corps during that year.

 

Refine your search in our databases by using Boolean Logic (and, or, not) in the search boxes provided.  For a complete tutorial on using Boolean Logic, click here.

 

Remember to also refine your search by narrowing your topic to a specific year.  While databases vary in how and where you insert date-range information, a careful examination of the advanced search screen will reveal how to narrow your seach by date.  For example, in the History Reference Study Center, choose 'Advanced Search' then scroll down to 'Timeline."  There, you will be able to specify a date range to help narrow your search to a specific year.

Basic ways to find scholarly articles for historical research

 

How do historians do research?

The study of history offers students an opportunity to investigate the past, gain perspective on the present, and develop their critical faculties and their imaginations. History provides an integrating principle for the entire learning process, and students gain a sense of human development and interrelatedness and an understanding of social processes. History demands a confrontation with the mythologies and achievements of our own society and with the reality of "otherness," both at home and in the larger world.

My Profile

Profile Image
Tinsley Silcox
Contact Info
silcoxt@smtexas.org
214-346-8372
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip