This is the "Home" page of the "Ancient History Research " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient History Research  

This guide includes a list of scholarly resources that will help you focus on essential sources that Green Library has acquired.
Last Updated: Nov 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/content.php?pid=248192 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Cinda Thoma
Contact Info
(214) 346-8373
Send Email
 

Ancient History Sources

Print Sources Available to support Ancient History Projects:

NON-FICTION

Ancient Greece  938 ACK

The Ancient Greeks  938 LAS

The Ancient Greeks:  New Perspectives  938 BUD

Ancient Greeks for Dummies  938 BAT

The Ancient Greek World  938 ROB

Ancient Greece:  Social and Historical  932 DIL

Paideia:  The Ideal of Greek Culture  938 JAE

The Lion in the Gateway  938 REN

The Greek Historians  938.007 FIN

The Groovy Greeks  938 DEA

Civilizations:  Ten Thousand Years  930 MEL

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilizations  938.003 OXF

The World in Ancient Times  930 MEL

The Cambridge Ancient History  930 CAM

Ten Kings:  And the World They Ruled  920 MEL

Cyrus the Great  935 CYR

Digging in Assyria  913.35 DIG

Babylon  935 OAT

Everyday Life in Babylonia & Assyria  935 SAG

The Secret of the Hittites  939 CER

Thebes in the Time of Amunhotop III  932.01 RIE

The Lives of the Noble Grecians  SMRM 920.038 PLU

Ancient Civilizations:  Almanac  930 KNI

The Analects of Confucius  181.112 CON

Thinking Through Confucius  181 HAL

The Rise and Fall of Alexandria  932  POL

The Ancient Egyptian World  932 CLI

The Ancient Egyptians  932 PER

REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of the Ancient World  REF 930.03 ENC

Atlas of Classical History  REF 930.03 ENC

Who's Who in the Bible  REF 220.9 WHO

The Cambridge History of Egypt  REF 962 CAM

Encyclopedia of Archaeology   REF 932.002 ENC

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt  REF 932 BUN

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Archaeology  REF 932 OXF

Encyclopedia of Philosophy  REF 100 ROU

The Encyclopedia of Religion  REF 200.3 ENC

Religions of the World  REF 291 REL

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas  REF 909 MCN

History of Western Civilization  REF 909 MCN

Reading in Western Civilization  REF 909 UNI

Great Lives from History  REF 920 GRE

Encyclopedia of World Biography  REF 920 ENC

World Eras:  Classical Greek Civilization  REF 938 CLA

World Eras:  Ancient Egypt  REF 932

Civilizations of the Ancient Mediterranean:  Greece and Rome  REF 938 CIV

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East  REF 939.4 CIV

Encyclopedia of Asian History  REF 950 ENC

Encyclopedia of Modern Middle East and North Africa  REF 956

BIOGRAPHY

Confucius:  The Golden Rule  BIO CON

Ramses II  BIO RAM

Best History Websites

 Best History Sites accessed through http://besthistorysites.net

The British Museum:  Ancient Greece www.britishmuseum.org  

Perseus Project www.perseus.tufts.edu

BBC Ancient History:  Greece  www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/greeks

The Greeks:  Crucible of Civilization www.pbs.org/empires/the greeks

The Greek Galleries (Metropolitan Museum of Art's Greek Galleries)  http://www.metmuseum.org/explore/Greek/Greek1.htm 

Olympics Through Time  http://olympics.fhw.org

 

      

    Green Library Best Ancient History Databases

     

    Ancient History Databases at Green Library:

    Britannica  

    Ebscohost (History Reference Center is embedded in this database.)

    Gale Infotrac:  All Subjects  (Gale World History in Context is embedded in this database.)

                                           (Academic OneFile is embedded in this database.)

                                           (Gale Virtual Reference Library is embedded in this database.)

    JSTOR (Journal of World History is embedded in this database as well as the discipline of Classical Studies (53 titles)

    Muse (Embedded within this database are links to studies in art, architecture, history, philosophy, and religion)

     

     

    AP Paper Slavery Websites

    On Slavery:

    http://pudl.princeton.edu/viewer.php?obj=7m01bm45z#page/4/mode/2up

    http://pudl.princeton.edu/objects/f1881m64m

    http://pudl.princeton.edu/objects/t148dh885

    http://pudl.princeton.edu/viewer.php?obj=346d491w#/8/mode/2up

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip