This is the "Home" page of the "Pythagoras, Hippocrates, and Homer" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pythagoras, Hippocrates, and Homer  

This guide is designed for Ms. Schoberlein's 6th grade Humanities classes for their research on three prominent Greek scholars.
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/content.php?pid=298141 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print and Databse Sources for Pythagoras

For information on Pythagoras, use the following five basic sources:

Slowly and carefully read each article, highlighting and underlining key words and ideas.

Source 1:  World Book, volume 15, p. 921   "Pythagoras" and "Pythagorean theorem"     (This is your general encyclopedia article.)

Source 2:  Britannica, volume 9, p. 828    "Pythagoras" and "Pythagoreanism"    (This is your second general encyclopedia article.)

Source 3:  Encyclopedia of World Biography, volume 12, p. 498     "Pythagoras"   (This is your subject encyclopedia article.)

Source 4:  Ancient Greeks; Creating the Classical Tradition   by Rosalie F. and Charles F. Baker     (This is your detailed, print source from the nonfiction collection.)  

                                                                                                                                

Source 5:  Gale World History (Green Library's subscription database online)

 

Print and Database Sources for Hippocrates

For information on Hippocrates, use the following five basic sources:

Slowly and carefully read each article, highlighting and underlining key words and ideas.

Source 1:  World Book, volume 9, p. 239  "Hippocrates"

Source 2:  Britannica, volume 5, p. 939-940  "Hippocrates"

Source 3:  Encyclopedia of World Biography, volume 7, pp. 408-410

Source 4:  Cambridge Illustrated History of Ancient Greece edited by Paul Cartledge, pp. 312-314   "Medicine"

Source 5:  Gale World History (Green Library's subscription database online)

 

Print and Database Sources for Homer

For information on Homer, use the following five basic sources:

Slowly and carefully read each article, highlighting and underlining key words and ideas.

Source 1:  World Book, volume 9, pp. 303-304, "Homer"

Source 2:  Britannica, volume 6, p. 24, "Homer"

Source 3:  Gale World History "Homer"  (Green Library's subscription database online) 

My Profile

Profile Image
Cinda Thoma
Contact Info
(214) 346-8373
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip