This is the "Home" page of the "Ancient History Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient History Research  

Guide to resources available in the Green Library
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2015 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/content.php?pid=388515 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Green Library catalog

Keyword Searchè

Click here to use all of the catalog features.

Best History Websites

 Best History Sites accessed through http://besthistorysites.net

The British Museum:  Ancient Greece www.britishmuseum.org  

Perseus Project www.perseus.tufts.edu

BBC Ancient History:  Greece  www.bbc.co.uk/history/ancient/greeks

The Greeks:  Crucible of Civilization www.pbs.org/empires/the greeks

The Greek Galleries (Metropolitan Museum of Art's Greek Galleries)  http://www.metmuseum.org/explore/Greek/Greek1.htm 

Olympics Through Time  http://olympics.fhw.org

 

      
     

    Searching the library databases efficiently

    Searching the library databases can be an interesting journey of discovery, finding treasures at every turn.  Or, it can be a frustrating and difficult task if you have not taken the time to understand the search tools at your disposal.  Please take the time to visit with one of your librarians, who will be happy to assist you as you learn to navigate our online resources for crucial information.  If you would like to explore on your own, use the tab Primer in Boolean Logic to get you started.

     

    Sample Cover Art for Ancient History Books

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of the Ancient World - Thomas J. Sienkewicz (Editor); Thomas H. Watkins (Editorial Board Member); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Lawrence Allan Conrad (Editorial Board Member); Geoffrey W. Conrad (Editorial Board Member); David A. Crain (Editorial Board Member); Ch
    ISBN: 9780893560386
    Publication Date: 2001-11-01

    Cover Art
    Ancient Greece - Matthew Dillon; Lynda Garland
    ISBN: 9780415217545
    Publication Date: 2000-01-24

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World - David Sacks; Lisa R. Brody (Revised by)
    ISBN: 9780816057221
    Publication Date: 2005-07-01

     

    Sample titles from Green Library--Ancient Rome

    Cover Art
    The Roman Colosseum - Elizabeth Mann; Michael Racz (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0965049337
    Publication Date: 1998-11-01

    Cover Art
    Ancient Rome - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff (Editor)
    ISBN: 0756606519
    Publication Date: 2004-08-02

    Cover Art
    The Romans for Dummies - Guy de la Bedoyere
    ISBN: 9780470030776
    Publication Date: 2007-01-02

    Cover Art
    Empire of Ancient Rome, Revised Edition - Michael Burgen
    ISBN: 9781604131598
    Publication Date: 2009-09-01

     

    Ancient History Sources

    Print Sources Available to support Ancient History Projects:

    NON-FICTION

    Ancient Greece  938 ACK

    The Ancient Greeks  938 LAS

    The Ancient Greeks:  New Perspectives  938 BUD

    Ancient Greeks for Dummies  938 BAT

    The Ancient Greek World  938 ROB

    Ancient Greece:  Social and Historical  932 DIL

    Paideia:  The Ideal of Greek Culture  938 JAE

    The Lion in the Gateway  938 REN

    The Greek Historians  938.007 FIN

    The Groovy Greeks  938 DEA

    Civilizations:  Ten Thousand Years  930 MEL

    The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilizations  938.003 OXF

    The World in Ancient Times  930 MEL

    The Cambridge Ancient History  930 CAM

    Ten Kings:  And the World They Ruled  920 MEL

    Cyrus the Great  935 CYR

    Digging in Assyria  913.35 DIG

    Babylon  935 OAT

    Everyday Life in Babylonia & Assyria  935 SAG

    The Secret of the Hittites  939 CER

    Thebes in the Time of Amunhotop III  932.01 RIE

    The Lives of the Noble Grecians  SMRM 920.038 PLU

    Ancient Civilizations:  Almanac  930 KNI

    The Analects of Confucius  181.112 CON

    Thinking Through Confucius  181 HAL

    The Rise and Fall of Alexandria  932  POL

    The Ancient Egyptian World  932 CLI

    The Ancient Egyptians  932 PER

    REFERENCE

    Encyclopedia of the Ancient World  REF 930.03 ENC

    Atlas of Classical History  REF 930.03 ENC

    Who's Who in the Bible  REF 220.9 WHO

    The Cambridge History of Egypt  REF 962 CAM

    Encyclopedia of Archaeology   REF 932.002 ENC

    The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt  REF 932 BUN

    The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Archaeology  REF 932 OXF

    Encyclopedia of Philosophy  REF 100 ROU

    The Encyclopedia of Religion  REF 200.3 ENC

    Religions of the World  REF 291 REL

    New Dictionary of the History of Ideas  REF 909 MCN

    History of Western Civilization  REF 909 MCN

    Reading in Western Civilization  REF 909 UNI

    Great Lives from History  REF 920 GRE

    Encyclopedia of World Biography  REF 920 ENC

    World Eras:  Classical Greek Civilization  REF 938 CLA

    World Eras:  Ancient Egypt  REF 932

    Civilizations of the Ancient Mediterranean:  Greece and Rome  REF 938 CIV

    Civilizations of the Ancient Near East  REF 939.4 CIV

    Encyclopedia of Asian History  REF 950 ENC

    Encyclopedia of Modern Middle East and North Africa  REF 956

    BIOGRAPHY

    Confucius:  The Golden Rule  BIO CON

    Ramses II  BIO RAM

     

    Great New Books to Support Individual Research

    Cyrus the Great by Jacob Abbott

    Cyrus the Great--Makers of History by Jacob Abbott

    Cleisthenes the Athenian by Pierre Leveque

    Xerxes:  Makers of History by Jacob Abbott

    Ramses: The Son of Light by Christian Jacq

    The Kingdom of the Hittites by Trevor Bryce

    The Search for Nerertiti by Dr. Joanne Fletcher

    The Israelites by Antony Kamm

    Zoroastrianism by Jenny Rose

    The Triumphs of the Greatest Persian by C. J. Kirwin

    Ramses II by Christiane Desroches Noblecourt

    Nefetiti, Immortal Queen by Cheryl L. Fluty

    Tiglath Pilser III by Abraham Samuel Anspacher

    Hammurabi by Marc Van De Mieroop

    The Israelites by B.S.J. Isserloin

    Solon, the Thinker by John David Lewis

    Hammurabi, Babylonian Ruler by Christian Mayfield

    Ramses II, Egyptian Pharaoh by Stephanie Fitzgerald

    Ages in Chaos  by Immanuel Velikovsky

    David, Man of Passion & Destiny by Charles R. Swindoll

     

    Sample titles from Green Library--Ancient Greece

    Cover Art
    Ancient Greece - Stewart Ross
    ISBN: 0756605547
    Publication Date: 2004-08-16

    Cover Art
    Ancient Greece - Eyewitness - Anne Pearson; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
    ISBN: 9780756630027
    Publication Date: 2007-06-25

    Cover Art
    Ancient Greece - Peter Chrisp; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
    ISBN: 0789492717
    Publication Date: 2003-05-05

    Cover Art
    Ancient Greece - G. Behor
    ISBN: 8881620677
    Publication Date: 2000-01-06

    Cover Art
    Bodies from the Ash - James M. Deem
    ISBN: 0618473084
    Publication Date: 2005-10-24

    Cover Art
    The Ancient Greeks for Dummies® - Stephen Batchelor
    ISBN: 9780470987872
    Publication Date: 2008-09-02

    Subject Guide

    Green Library Best Ancient History Databases

     

    Ancient History Databases at Green Library:

    Britannica  

    Ebscohost (History Reference Center is embedded in this database.)

    Gale Infotrac:  All Subjects  (Gale World History in Context is embedded in this database.)

                                           (Academic OneFile is embedded in this database.)

                                           (Gale Virtual Reference Library is embedded in this database.)

    JSTOR (Journal of World History is embedded in this database as well as the discipline of Classical Studies (53 titles)

    Muse (Embedded within this database are links to studies in art, architecture, history, philosophy, and religion)

     

     

    Relevant Titles for Ancient Historical Persons

    939.4  The Ancient Near Eastern World              935.05  The World of Achaemenid Persia; History, Art and Society in Iran and the Ancient Near East

    935 CYR  Cyrus the Great

    913.35 DIG  Digging in Assyria

    935 SAG  Everyday Life in Babylonia & Assyria

    BIO AKH  Akhenaten, King of Egypt

    299.31 HOR  Akhenaten and the Religion of Light

    932.014 AME  Amenhotep III:  Perspectives on His Reign

    932 PER  The Ancient Egyptians

    REF 962 CAM  The Cambridge History of Egypt

    355 HAN  The Wars of the Ancient Greeks:  And Their Invention of Western Military Culture

    SMRM 920.038  The Lives of the Noble Grecians and Romans

    938 REN  The Lion in the Gateway:  the Heroic Battles of the Greeks and Persians at Marathon

    938 LAS  The Ancient Greeks

    938 ACK  Ancient Greece

    932.01 TIA  Ramses II

    913.32 MAC  Abu Simbel

    913.38 WAR  Men of Athens:  The Story of Fifth Century Athens

    741.5 MIL  300/Story & Art  (Xerxes I, King of Persia)

    938 ROB  The Ancient Greek World

    BIO RAM  Ramses II

    BIO RAM  Ramses II, Greatest of the Pharaohs

    BIO RAM  Ramses:  Rulers of the Ancient World

    BIO AKH  Akhenaten:  Egypt's False Prophet

    BIO AKH  Akhenaten:  King of Egypt

    938  DEA  The Groovy Greeks

    759.3 BAR  Alexander's Battle   (Battle of Alexander and Darius at Issos)

    935.05 HOL  Persian Fire:  The First World Empire and the Battle for the West

    935.5 WHA  What Life Was Like at the Dawn of Democracy:  Classical Athens, 525-322 BC

     

     

     

    Sample titles from Green Library--Ancient Art

    Cover Art
    Archaic and Classical Greek Art - Robin Osborne
    ISBN: 9780192842022
    Publication Date: 1998-11-19

    Cover Art
    Roman Art - Nancy H. Ramage; Andrew Ramage
    ISBN: 0131504878
    Publication Date: 2004-07-09

    Cover Art
    Greek Art - Mark D. Fullerton
    ISBN: 0521779731
    Publication Date: 1999-09-13

    Cover Art
    Roman Art - Eve D'Ambra
    ISBN: 9780521644631
    Publication Date: 1998-11-13

    Cover Art
    Athenian Vase Construction - Toby Schreiber
    ISBN: 0892364653
    Publication Date: 1999-05-27

    Cover Art
    Reading Greek Vases - Ann Steiner
    ISBN: 9780521825221
    Publication Date: 2007-01-08

    Cover Art
    Greek Art - John Boardman
    ISBN: 9780500202920
    Publication Date: 1996-11-17

    Cover Art
    Handbook of Mediterranean Roman Pottery - John W. Hayes
    ISBN: 0806129395
    Publication Date: 1997-07-15

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip