This is the "Home" page of the "20th c. Drama Research Project - Mrs. Weber and Mrs. Kurdi" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

20th c. Drama Research Project - Mrs. Weber and Mrs. Kurdi  

This Lib Guide is designed to help you find literary criticism from Green Library print and database sources which will support the research for the 2-3 page focused paper.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/content.php?pid=436783 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Sources - REFERENCE BOOKS

Reference Books  (lst floor Green Library)

DRAMA FOR STUDENTS   v. 1-20     REF 808.2 DRA

     This is a very important source presenting analysis, context, and criticism on commonly studies 20th c. dramas. This includes an author biography, plot summary, character description, discussion of theme, style, setting, historical context, and critical overview of a particular play.

TWENTIETH -CENTURY LITERARY CRITICISM   v. 1-73     REF 809.04 TWE

     This multi-volume subject encyclopedia contains excerpts from criticism of playwrights who lived between 1900 and 1960, from the first publioshed critical appraisals to current evaluations.    Note:  Use the cumulative author index at the back of a volume to find the name of your playwright.  For example, Edward Albee may be found as follows:

                         Albee, Edward (Franklin III)  1928-CLC 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 25, 53, 86; DA; DAB; DAC; DAM DRAM, MST; WLC

                         See also AITN 1; CA 5-8R; CABS 3; CANR 8, 54

There is a guide to the abbreviations for each work as well as cross-references on the "How to Use This Index" page.

SURVEY OF CONTEMPORARY LITERATURE       REF 809.04 SUR

       This multi-volume subject encyclopedia contains updated reprints of 2,300 essay-reviews of individual plays as well as a bibliography which will suggest specific titles that you might want to access for outstanding articles of literary criticism of the play in journals.  Use this source as a starting point before going to the article in the JStor database.

 

Print Sources - SPECIFIC NONFICTION TITLES

  

PLAYS/PLAYWRIGHTS AND LITERARY CRITICISM   (2nd floor Green Library - Look for the books in the 800s - our fabulous American and British drama section)

SAMPLE TITLES FOR ARTHUR MILLER:

ARTHUR MILLER  812.52 MIL    NOTE:  ALL OF THE PLAYS AS WELL AS LITERARY CRITICISM ARE PLACED ON THE SHELF TOGETHER USING THIS CALL NUMBER!

                                                   THIS MAKES YOUR RESEARCH EASY ONCE YOU FIND YOUR PLAYWRIGHT IN OUR ONLINE CATALOG!

Death of a Salesman (Text and Criticism)    812.52 MIL

         Consult the table of contents and index.  You will find reviews of the play including essays written about first impressions of the play when it opened in 1949, the realism of Arthur Miller, the creative agony of Arthur Miller, the loss of conscience theme, comments on epic tragedy, and the success dream on the American stage.

Arthur Miller; New Perspectives    812.52 MIL

         This work contains essays regarding colloquial language in All My Sons, work as alienation in the plays of Arthur Miller, pessimism in After the Fall, and realism in Miller's work.

Twentieth Century Interpretations of The Crucible  812.52 MIL

         This compilation of essays includes commentaries on witchcraft and the Puritans, the meaning of McCarthyism, dramatic technique, historical analogy, action and theme, the idea of the modern tragedy, subjectivism and self-awareness.

Arthur Miller; A Collection of Critical Essays  812.52 MIL

         These essays include topics such as the achievement of Arthur Miller, strength and weakness, realism, the idea of modern tragedy, point of view, the liberal conscience, and the shifting image of man.

Twayne's United States Authors Series; Arthur Miller  812.52 MIL

Modern Critical Interpretations; Arthur Miller  812.52 MIL

Modern Critical Views; Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman  812.52 MIL

 

DATABASES FOR CRITICAL ANALYSIS/DRAMA

THE MOST INCREDIBLE DATABASEs FOR THIS RESEARCH INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING LIST OF SOURCES.   GO TO THE BLUE TAB "ELECTRONIC RESOURCES" ON THE GREEN LIBRARY HOMEPAGE.  REMEMBER ACCESS IS GRANTED AT smtexas.org/Quick Links/Libraries/Cecil and Ida Green Library

GALE INFOTRAC

   TWAYNE'S AUTHORS SERIES

   TWAYNES'S AUTHORS ON GVRL                    

   LITERATURE RESOURCES FROM GALE

   LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER

   SCRIBNER WRITER'S SERIES

   

JSTOR

GENERAL ONE FILE

ACADEMIC ONE FILE

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Cinda Thoma
Contact Info
(214) 346-8373
Send Email
 

Sample Green Library Print Sources/Covers

Note:

This is an essential multi-volume work which all boys should consult for great information.

Cover Art
Drama for Students - Anne Hacht
ISBN: 0787668176
Publication Date: 2004-11-24

America Drama - Alan S. Downer
Call Number: 812.08 AME
Publication Date: 1960

Cover Art
Masterpieces of Modern British and Irish Drama - Sanford Sternlicht
ISBN: 0313333238
Publication Date: 2005-09-01

Cover Art
Arthur Miller - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0877547114
Publication Date: 1988-01-01

Cover Art
Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman - Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 1555460615
Publication Date: 1988-01-01

Cover Art
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism - Thomson Gale Staff
ISBN: 0787611751
Publication Date: 1997-12-22

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip