This is the "Home" page of the "Poetry Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Poetry Research Guide  

This library guide is designed to help you find poetry and poetry analysis/literary criticism available in the Green Library.
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/content.php?pid=526415 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

My Profile

Profile Image
Cinda Thoma
Contact Info
(214) 346-8373
Send Email

My Profile

Profile Image
Tinsley Silcox
Contact Info
silcoxt@smtexas.org
214-346-8372
Send Email
 

Print Sources - Reference Books

Reference Books (lst floor Green Library)

POETRY FOR STUDENTS  v.1-24 REF 808 POE

     This is a very important source!  The information  in each entry includes an introduction to the poem and the poem's author; the actual poem text; a poem summary, to help readers unravel and understand the meaning of the poem; analysis of important themes in the poem; and an explanation of important literary techniques and movements as they are demonstrated in the poem.  This multi-volume reference work presents analysis, context, and criticism on commonly studied poems.

 

POETRY CRITICISM  v.1-8  REF 808.1 POE

     This is a very, very important source!  Excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets of World Literature.

 

THE COLUMBIA GRANGER'S INDEX TO POETRY  REF 808.81 COL

     This is a great source if you know the title, first line, or last line of a poem and want to find a copy in a poetry anthology.

 

THE HOME BOOK OF VERSE   REF808.81 STE 

      This is a comprehensive anthology of renowned American and English poems.

 

CRITICAL SURVEY OF POETRY  v.1-8     REF 809.1  CRI

      Great source which provides a comprehensive overview of poets, their works, and the poetic genre in general.  These eight volumes cover the poetry and poets of the English-language tradition, analyzing the field from the beginnings of oral poetry and Beowulf to Margaret Atwood.  Bibliographies at the end of each entry will provide titles to other relevant sources in your search.

WORLD POETS  v. 1-3         REF  809.1  WOR

     This is a great source for your research!  This is a a comprehensive source of information on poets and their work.  Bibliographies are invaluable in leading you to the absolute best sources for further study.

 

 

 

Poetry Anthologies and Poetry Analysis from Green Collection

Sample Poets and Literary Critiques

Cover Art
The Complete Poems of Carl Sandburg - Carl Sandburg
ISBN: 0151009961
Publication Date: 2003-01-06
The Complete Poems of Carl Sandburg offers an anthology of poems written by Sandburg. Our poetry collection may be found on the 2nd floor of Green Library in the 800s. What is really great about finding poetry books is that the poetry and the interpretations are organized by Dewey number on the same shelf.

Cover Art
Carl Sandburg - Richard Crowder
Call Number: 811.52 SAN
ISBN: 0805706488
Publication Date: 1964-06-01
This book offers analysis and interpretation of Sandburg's poetry.

 

Recommended Poetry Websites

Poetry Foundation

     Browse poems and poets, watch video interviews, listen to poetry

The Poetry Archive

    An extensive collection of poetry read by authors, includes poetry reading guides, and biographies

 

American Masters Database

     Author biographies and links

 

Famous Black Writers

     Here you will find links to famous African-American poets such as Maya Angelou

 

Cover Art of Sources That You Need for This Project

Cover Art
Poetry for Students - Anne Marie Hacht
ISBN: 0787669601
Publication Date: 2004-11-01

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry - John F. Nims (Editor); William Katz (Editor); Dana Gioia (Editor); Edith P. Hazen (Editor); James Shapiro (Editor); Mary Biggs (Editor)
ISBN: 0231084080
Publication Date: 1993-12-01

Critical Survey of Poetry, English Language Series - Frank N. Magill (Editor)
ISBN: 0893563404
Publication Date: 1982-01-01

Cover Art
World Poets - Ron Padgett (Editor)
ISBN: 068480591X
Publication Date: 2000-05-05

Cover Art
The Top 500 Poems - William Harmon (Editor)
ISBN: 023108028X
Publication Date: 1992-12-10

Cover Art
Guide to Poetry Explication - John R. Leo
ISBN: 0816189188
Publication Date: 1989-08-01
REF 811.16 GUI

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Poetry - Eric L. Haralson
Call Number: REF 811.309 ENC
ISBN: I579580084
Publication Date: 1998
Two volume set of 19th century poetry REF 811.309 ENC

 

Poetry Subscription Databases Available through Green Library

THE MOST USEFUL DATABASES FOR THIS RESEARCH INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING LIST OF SOURCES.  GO TO THE BLUE TAB "ELECTRONIC RESOURCES" ON THE GREEN LIBRARY HOMEPAGE.  REMEMBER ACCESS IS GRANTED AT smtexas.org/Quick Links/Libraries/Cecil and Ida Green Library

Be certain to consult Literature Online and Project Muse for this assignment!

LITERATURE ONLINE

PROJECT MUSE

GALE INFOTRAC

     TWAYNE'S AUTHORS ON GVRL

      LITERATURE RESOURCES FROM GALE

      LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER

      SCRIBNER WRITER'S SERIES

JSTOR

ACADEMIC ONE FILE

GENERAL ONE FILE

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip