This is the "Home" page of the "Research on Salman Rushdie" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research on Salman Rushdie  

This Lib guide is designed to help Mrs. Mailer's classes with the research requirements of the Salman Rushdie project.
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/content.php?pid=584662 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommended Green Library Database Sources

A to Z World Cultures

Britannica Online

Gale Infotrac (All Subjects)  World History in Context

Ebsco

Proquest  (Literature Online)

Note:  User IDs and Passwords are needed to access these databases from home.  Please refer to the white cards available at Green Library or Lion Tracks.

 

Subject Encyclopedias on India and The Modern Middle East

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography - Suzanne M. Bourgoin; Paula K. Byers
ISBN: 0787622214
Publication Date: 1997-12-02

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East - Richard W. Bulliet (Editor); Reeva S. Simon (Editor); Philip Mattar (Editor)
ISBN: 0028960114
Publication Date: 1905-06-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of India - Stanley A. Wolpert
ISBN: 0684313499
Publication Date: 2005-11-28

 

Works Cited

MLA format is required.

Please refer to the Green library handout titled "Bibliographic Format"/How to Cite Your Sources

or NoodleTools

 

Nonfiction Titles on India and the Middle East from Green Library

Cover Art
India - Prem Kishore; Anuradha Kishore Ganpati
ISBN: 0781809444
Publication Date: 2002-11-01

Cover Art
Power Politics - Arundhati Roy
ISBN: 0896086690
Publication Date: 2002-04-01

Cover Art
The Complete Idiot's Guide to the Middle East Conflict - Mitchell G. Bard
ISBN: 0028632613
Publication Date: 1999-09-01

Cover Art
Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict - Charles D. Smith
ISBN: 0312404085
Publication Date: 2004-03-03

Cover Art
Pakistan - Ann Heinrichs
ISBN: 0516242482
Publication Date: 2004-03-01

 

Books Related to the Idea of Imagination and Science

Cover Art
The Wave in the Mind - Ursula K. Le Guin
ISBN: 1590300068
Publication Date: 2004-02-17

Cover Art
Mapping Mars - Oliver Morton
ISBN: 0312245513
Publication Date: 2002-10-04

Cover Art
Shaping Humanity - John Gurche
ISBN: 9780300182026
Publication Date: 2013-11-26

 

Basic Informative Sources/Definition of Terms

In order to determine the reasons for Rushdie's going into hiding, why the fawn, what a fatma is, background on Rushdie's family life, please consult the following general sources:

Britannica

Encyclopedia of World Biography

Gale Infotrac:  All Subjects   (the embedded History in Context database on Rushdie)

 

Key Words and Phrases to Enhance Research on Salman Rushdie

Use these terms in the on-line catalog and database search boxes for better results:

Salman Rushdie--biography  (or personal life, memoirs, autobiography)

Rushdie, Salman--History--20th century--freedom of the press

Khomeini statements on Rushdie

Khomeini fatwa

Rushdie and reform in Islam

Kashmir conflict or the Kargil conflict

India and Pakistan

Inida--History--Partition

India--Foreign relations

India--Politics and government

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip