This is the "Home" page of the "The Era of Absolutism in Europe, 1648-1789" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Era of Absolutism in Europe, 1648-1789  

This guide is designed to highlight resources from Green Library for 10th grade history research.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2015 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/content.php?pid=681398 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Sources

Gale Infotrac (particularly World History in Context)

Britannica

JStor

Project Muse

ArtStor

 

Search Terms

absolutism--political ideas and assumptions

absolute monarchy

royal autocracy

oligarchical bureaucracy

ideals of government vs. practicalities

personal power of monarchs

absolutism of Stuarts in England

Louis XIV--absolutism of France

Ancien regime

Monarchy--Great Britain--History

Despotism--History

17th century Europe

 

Encyclopedia of European Social History - Subject Encyclopedia

REF

306.094

ENC        Volume 2

Fantastic section on "Absolutism" with commentaries on the structure of the absolutist state, venality of office, absolutism and war, the legitimation of absolutism and the last stage of absolutism:  enlightened despotism from 1350 onward. 

Excellent bigliography of additional sources on p. 448.

Articles on pp. 439-447, Volume 2

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 - Peter N. Stearns
Publication Date: 2000-12-01

 

Print Sources to Consider

Cover Art
Absolutism in Central Europe - Peter Wilson
ISBN: 0415150434
Publication Date: 2000-08-21
This book offers a wide range of valuable documents on the critical issues of seventeenth-century French history written by a professor of history at Emory University.

Cover Art
Europe - Norman Davies
ISBN: 0195209125
Publication Date: 1996-12-05
This book presents a kind of historical picture album of European history which will give insight into the meaning of absolutism. Be certain to consult pages 578-580 in this volume.

Cover Art
Louis XIV - Anthony Levi
ISBN: 0786713097
Publication Date: 2004-03-10
Chapter 7 in this book is titled, "Absolutism and the Churches". The concepts of "Divine Right Monarchy", "Dealing with the Gallican Church and the Pope", and"Dealing with the Jansenists" are included. Primary Source material will be a bonus for your research here at Green Library.

Cover Art
Louis XIV and Absolutism - William Beik
ISBN: 031213309X
Publication Date: 2000-01-20
Absolutism in England, Absolutism as a 17th century answer to the problem of order, and the triumph of absolutism in Europe are addressed in this particular source.

Cover Art
Myth of Absolutism, the Change and Continuity in Early Modern European Monarchy - Nicholas Henshall
ISBN: 0582056187
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Examines both the idea and the reality of absolutism in early modern Europe. Focus on the nature and operation of early modern monarchy.

Cover Art
The Court Jew - a Contribution to the History of the Period of Absolutism in Central Europe - Selma Stern
ISBN: 9781406761009
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Subtitle: A Contribution to the History of the Period of Absolutism in Central Europe

 

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance - Subject Encyclopedia

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
ISBN: 0684805146
Publication Date: 1999-12-17
Volume 1, Subject Encyclopedia

REF 940.21
ENC

My Profile

Profile Image
Cinda Thoma
Contact Info
(214) 346-8373
Send Email
 

Books - European History/Absolutism in Europe

Illustrated History of Europe   REF 940 HIS

Age of Kings 940.2 BLI       Note:  Be certain to see the chapter titled "The Sun King"  pp. 55-65.

The Age of Absolutism 940.22 BEL

Renaissance, Reformation, and Absolutism  940.2 REN

Europe; A History  940 DAV

The Court Jew:  A Contribution to the History of Absolutism in Europe  332 COU

The Myth of Absolutism; The Change and Continuity in Early Modern European Monarchy  321.6 HEN

Monarchism and Absolutism in Early Modern Europe  

Crisis, Absolutism, Revolution:  Europe and the World

Absolutism and Society in Seventeenth-Century France:  State Power and Provincial Aristocracy

Louis XIV and Absolutism:  A Brief Study with Documents 944.033 BEI

Absolutism in Central Europe 320.943 WIL

Encyclopedia of European Social History   REF 306.094 ENC v.1

Ideas and Institutions in European History  800-1715      940.1 IDE

The Rise of Prussia   940.083 MAC

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip