This is the "Home" page of the "FWS Family History Paper 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FWS Family History Paper 2015  

This guide is designed to help boys write the 9th grade family history paper using sources available from Green Library.
Last Updated: Jan 9, 2017 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/fws Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Sources - Newspapers, Census Reports, References to Major Events

Ebsco

Facts on File

Gale Infotrac   (World History in Context and US History in particular)

Proquest (Historical newspapers in particular)

 

Process for Writing the Family History Paper

1.  Choose the historical event or time period for your research.

2.  Gather sources - make copies of database sources and chapters from books that are relevant to your topic.  Place these copies in a folder provided for you in Green Library.  This folder must be available to your teacher and to Ms. Thoma at all times for monitoring the progress you make each day that you are conducting your research.    Your teacher and Ms. Thoma will want to see these sources.

3.  Make certain that you capture citation information attached to each source that you place in the folder.

4.  Only after you have gathered multiple sources, should you sit down to read, highlight, and underline key ideas that you wish to use in writing your paper.

5.  Do not open a word document to cut and paste.    You are reading to absorb as much information as possible.

6.  Formulate an informal outline of ideas and begin writing a rough draft documenting ideas carefully--acknowledging the authors and editors of the sources you are using.

7.  The folder of your paper will contain the following items:  printouts of sources with citations attached, underlined and highlighted ideas, an outline, a rough draft, endnotes, bibliography, and final copy.    Chicago Style Documentation.

 

Print Sources

Cover Art
Genealogy Online for Dummies - Matthew L. Helm; April Leigh Helm
ISBN: 9780470916513
Publication Date: 2011-01-11

Cover Art
Genealogist's Question and Answer Book - Marcia Yannizze Melnyk
ISBN: 1558705902
Publication Date: 2002-02-12

Cover Art
The Great American History Fact-Finder - Ted Yanak; Pam Cornelison; Norman Y. Mineta (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0395617154
Publication Date: 1993-03-15

Cover Art
Irish Americans - Tom Diegnan; Barry Moreno (Editor)
ISBN: 0764156276
Publication Date: 2003-04-01

Cover Art
Jewish Americans - Robert Stein; Barry Moreno (Editor)
ISBN: 0764156268
Publication Date: 2003-04-01

Cover Art
The Irish American Family Album - Dorothy Hoobler; Thomas Hoobler; Joseph P. Kennedy (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0195081277
Publication Date: 1995-01-26

Cover Art
Atlas of the Great Irish Famine - John Crowley (Editor); William J. Smyth (Editor); Mike Murphy (Editor)
ISBN: 9780814771488
Publication Date: 2012-08-01

Cover Art
The Great Ancestor Hunt - Lila Perl; Erika Weihs (Drawings by)
ISBN: 0899197450
Publication Date: 1989-09-01

Cover Art
Who Do You Think You Are? - Wall to Wall Media; Megan Smolenyak
ISBN: 9780670021635
Publication Date: 2010-03-04

Cover Art
The Official Guide to Ancestry. Com - Susan Sherwood Parr; George G. Morgan
ISBN: 9781593313197
Publication Date: 2008-10-01

My Profile

Profile Image
Cinda Thoma
Contact Info
(214) 346-8373
Send Email
 

History Reference Books from Green Library

The Annals of America     Volumes 1-26  REF 973 ANN   (Primary Source)

Chronicle of America; From Prehistory to Today   REF 973 CHR   (Primary newspaper source) 

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History  REF 973.0496 ENC, volumes 1-5

Encyclopedia of Asia

Encyclopedia of the Middle East

Japan; An Illustrated Encyclopedia

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life

Encyclopedia of India

Encyclopedia of Russian History

An Encyclopedia of Catastrophes in American History

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World

(These titles represent just a few examples of  specialized subject encyclopedias on the first floor of Green Library (Call numbers are all in 973) which will be invaluable for research about a historical event that affected your family whether it be in America, Europe, Asia, Africa or a multitude of other countries.  Be certain to browse the reference section 900s for valuable resources that support your choice of topic.)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip