This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Guide to Research in World History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Research in World History  

Mr. Silcox & Mr. Lawson have been working together to provide you with links to and ideas for beginning your research on the theme "Cultures Colliding." This guide will get you thinking and get you started on identifying materials to support your paper.
Last Updated: Jan 4, 2012 URL: http://libguides.smtexas.org/worldhistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

This guide offers suggestions on sources for history research in the Green Library at St. Mark's. The guide contains tabs about various stages of a research paper including:

 

How do I begin?

Begin your research by using the databases at your disposal in the Green Library.  Links to these databases may be found under "Basic ways to find scholarly articles" on this page.

Pay particular attention to sites devoted to research in your area which we have vetted for you, such as Professor Brycchan Carey of Kinston University's (UK) website, where he discusses black British writers such as Ignatius Sancho, Olaudah Equiano, and Ottobah Cugoano, as well as resources for the study of slavery, abolition, and emancipation.Other names to which you should pay particular attention are Wilhelm Amo and Zara Jacob.

 

Sacred Texts

The Internet Sacred Text Archives contains translations and version of sacred texts of the major western religions including the Bible, Tanach, Rig Veda, the Book of the Dead, etc.

Check it out.

 

How do historians do research?

The study of history offers students an opportunity to investigate the past, gain perspective on the present, and develop their critical faculties and their imaginations. History provides an integrating principle for the entire learning process, and students gain a sense of human development and interrelatedness and an understanding of social processes. History demands a confrontation with the mythologies and achievements of our own society and with the reality of "otherness," both at home and in the larger world.

 

WWI Document Archive

Here is a link to the WWI Document Archive at BYU.  This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List. The archives is international in focus, and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip